You are reading the documentation for an outdated Corteza release. 2022.3 is the latest stable Corteza release.

User Management

A user is an entity which is allowed to interact with your Corteza. A user can be an employee who needs to interact with their, or a system user which may be used to identify external integrations or webhook requests.

A user can be assigned to a series of roles which define the scope of the access for the given user.

For privacy reasons, personal information is masked by default. This can be configured by setting appropriate access control rules for either all users or a specific user.

To change information masking for all users:
  1. Click on the permissions button in the top right corner,

  2. select the role you wish to change this for,

  3. select the appropriate access option for the "show email details for any user" or "show name details for any user".

To change information masking for specific users:
  1. Click on the edit icon next to the user you wish to change this for,

  2. Click on the permissions button in the top right corner,

  3. select the role you wish to change this for,

  4. select the appropriate access option for the "show email details for (name here)" or "show name details for (name here)".

The user interface

The user management user interface resides in the Corteza Admin web application, under the system  users section.

Annotated image

Listing users

To list current system users:
  1. navigate to system  users,

  2. optionally insert the filtering parameters.

  3. The list refreshes automatically.

Annotated image

Creating users

Permissions can only be defined for existing users.

To create a new user:
  1. navigate to system  users,

  2. click on the new button in the top right corner,

  3. provide the requested data,

  4. press the submit button.

Annotated image

Editing users

To edit an existing user:
  1. navigate to system  users,

  2. click on the edit icon next to the user you wish to edit,

  3. update the parameters you wish to change,

  4. press the submit button.

Annotated image

Suspending users

To suspend an existing user:
  1. Navigate to system  users,

  2. click on the edit icon next to the user you wish to suspend,

  3. press and confirm the suspend button.

Annotated image

Deleting users

Instead of deleting users, you can temporarily suspend them.

To delete an existing user:
  1. navigate to system  users,

  2. click on the edit icon next to the user you wish to suspend,

  3. press and confirm the delete button.

Annotated image

Assign role

In order for the role membership to reflect on the user, they need to re-login.

To assign a role to an existing user:
  1. navigate to system  users,

  2. click on the edit icon next to the user you wish to edit,

  3. navigate to the "role membership" section and assign appropriate roles,

  4. press the submit button.

Refer to access control for more information regarding roles and access control.

Annotated image